French Whisky…

With 2 holidays booked this year, one being in Islay, I think i’m pushing it to involve Whisky in both.
However, the better half is an understanding and patient type, and enjoys the odd glass of the good stuff herself..(i’m keeping an eye on my Balvenie Double Wood..).
So south of France is booked, and we’re taking the bold decision to drive. Interesting, foolish. Whichever.
I realised the Obsession was increasing when we were looking at an online mapping tool to plan our journey. The wife was looking for places to stop. I was wondering how many distilleries France has? Ok, so Scotland is the heartland for the good stuff, but we mustn’t turn our backs on what our overseas friends (and indeed, more local) can produce. Mackmayra, as an example, really surprised me and I’m quite fond of the Japanese whiskies i have sample too.

So, the search is on. Can i reroute from Disneyland to a distillery? Can I convince the kids we need to know the French approach to maturation of spirit rather than cheese…?

Who knows, but I’ll let you know on the outcome….

Leave a Reply

